Millhauser Fellowship

Millhauser Fellowship

The Park School Graduate Student Fellows Program in Science, Mathematics and Technology was originated by Louise Eiseman Robinson Millhauser '30 in 1998,  and has been continued through the kindness and generosity of her son, Allen Robinson. The program celebrates the careers of young alumni currently in graduate school in these fields, by inviting them to return to Park and share their research with Upper School students. 

The Fellows present their work to the Park community and spend a full day in classes and meetings with students and faculty. Students have the opportunity to appreciate the value of the graduate experience and better understand the importance of their own scientific pursuits. Cast in the role of mentors, the Graduate Fellows offer a valuable personal perspective on the many professional possibilities open to Park students. 

The program is a gift to Park School from alumna Louise Eiseman Robinson Millhauser '30. Her curiosity about the sciences and her appreciation for the value of her own Park education led to her interest in supporting this important initiative. We are grateful to her and her family for their continued generosity and support. 

Park School Millhauser Fellows 


Rose Berns-Zieve ’11

Rose Berns-Zieve '11 attended Hamilton College where she majored in Mathematics and minored in Psychology and Anthropology. At Hamilton, she volunteered with America Reads and peer-tutored other Mathematics students. She participated in a summer Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU) at Miami University of Ohio where she co-authored a paper that has since been accepted for publication. After graduating from Hamilton, Rose joined the Mathematics and Statistics Department at University of Massachusetts as a graduate student. She is currently in her second year of the program, and, upon completion of this semester’s courses, she will receive her master’s degree. She plans to continue in the program and work towards her Ph.D. with the goal of becoming a professor. Rose's current interests tend towards low-dimensional topology and geometric topology.

Yohance Allette ’05

Yohance Allette '05 attended the University of Maryland Baltimore County with a major in Biological Sciences. He was a member of the 18th cohort of the Meyerhoff Scholarship Program, which is dedicated to increasing academic diversity in science, technology, engineering and related (STEM) fields. While enrolled at UMBC, Yohance was also accepted to both the McNair Scholars program and the MARC U*STAR program, both of which focus on preparing students applying to doctoral programs in the STEM fields. During his undergraduate studies, he worked in the research laboratory of Dr. Rachel Brewster, studying neurodevelopment in zebrafish. He also completed summer internships at Johns Hopkins Hospital and the University of Miami.

Upon graduation from UMBC with honors, he was accepted to the Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP) at Indiana University School of Medicine. During his Ph.D. training he was awarded the CTSI pre-doctoral award for translation research, earned multiple authorships in both peer-reviewed journals and book chapters, and presented his research and meetings both within the United States and internationally. He continues to maintain a presence in the laboratory through both mentorship of new graduate students and bench work during research electives. As a medical student, Yohance worked in community outreach as education co-chair for the student-run outreach clinic at IU. He is currently working with other clinic board members to provide learning opportunities for the patients via several outreach programs involving IU schools of Dentistry, Social Work, and Nursing. Yohance is now a senior medical student applying to residency programs in neurology, and awaiting the start of his intern year July 2017.

Past Millhauser Fellows


Anthony Kinslow II '08

A Ph.D. student in civil engineering at Stanford University, Anthony's research focuses on the rapid identification of energy efficiency measures for low-income households. Anthony attended North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University (NC A&T) in Greensboro, N.C. While at NC A&T, Anthony researched solar roadways and emerging contaminates, was admitted into the Engineering Honors Society (Tau Beta Pi), and spent a semester at Swinburne University of Technology in Melbourne, Australia, studying sustainable design and engineering management. Graduating with a bachelor's in civil engineering and certificates in global studies and waste management, he then went on to Stanford University to pursue his master's — which he earned in 2015 — and doctorate.  

Rebecca Knowles '08

Rebecca attended Haverford College, where she double majored in linguistics and mathematics with a concentration in computer science. Her linguistics thesis was awarded the 2012 Tri-College (Bryn Mawr, Haverford, and Swarthmore) prize for the Best Thesis in Theoretical Linguistics. While at Haverford, she co-ran the Women in Science and Sexuality And Gender Alliance organizations. In 2013 she enrolled in the computer science Ph.D. program at Johns Hopkins University, where she is affiliated with the Center for Language and Speech Processing, and was awarded an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship. She earned her master's in engineering in the Spring of 2015. Rebecca's research interests are in the areas of natural language processing, machine learning, and machine translation. 


Ali Buchholz ’03
Jenny Cooper ’04


Sarah Dewey ’05
Tamas Szalay ’06


Tara Gelb ’06
David Narrow ’08


Megan Cohen '03
Alden Walker '03


Emily Meyers '03
Paul Nestadt '99


Gillian Braden '02
Danielle Cameron '01


Alexis Erwin '01
David Weiss '03


Sahar Lotfi-Emran ’01
Will Hoffman ’03


10th Anniversary Program
Past Fellows Featured


Eric Friedman ’02
Megan Cole ’99
Orlando Yarborough ’99


Matt Hoffman ’00
Lisa Medalie ’98
Irit Altman ’95


Michael Goldberg ’94
Rebecca Kohn Rabin ’93


Zach Hettinger ’95
Safra Altman ’93
Amy Morrison ’96


George Shapiro ’92
JP Connolly ’96


Brad Rogers ’92
Olga Polyakov ’92
Jamie Schulte ’92


Sam Brody ’88
Michael Warres ’91
Jenny Ahern ’93


Lauri Richman ’89
Harris Shapiro ’90
Jon Millhauser ’91
Susie Kaufman Lazerow ’91